Posted On: Wed 06-Nov 2013
By: Tina Walker
Easy Day Time Rides

Anne Clare the organiser for the North Herts group of the 40 plus has asked me to let you all know that they run gentle rides on Tuesday and Thursday. If you are interested do get in touch with her. Anne Clare (01462 686313)
Posted On: Mon 04-Nov 2013
By: Daniel Mann
Blazing Saddles - October 2013 Update

October is out of the way now and with just under 2 months until the winners of this years Blazing Saddles are announced here is the latest on how the competition is hotting up:

Alan Baxter is still holding onto first place with an amazing 165 points (nearly 1 ride every 2 days). Jim Brown is in second on 148 with Bob Corbett just under the 100 milestone on 97 points.

In the ladies, Lynn Bonnici has broken the 100 milestone and has a tasty 103 points in the competition with both Jackie Cooper and Elaine Walker joint second on 94 points and Alison Mills in fourth on 85.

Lauren Higham is still leading the junior competition with 45 points with a good lead over Sean Browne in second place on 31 points and Kieran Higham is in third place with 26 points and slowly creeping up to Sean.

Head on over to our Blazing Saddles page to check out the full results for October and for a look at the results from previous years.
Posted On: Mon 28-Oct 2013
By: Luke Peters
Emitremmus Certificates

If any riders would like a certificate for the completion of their Emitremmus ride yesterday, please e-mail to show your interest, and then get an A4 SAE with postage for a large letter.
Posted On: Sun 27-Oct 2013
By: Luke Peters
Emitremmus is done for another year

British Summer Time ended this morning, so that meant it was time for hundreds of cyclists to descend on Stevenage for the start of the Emitremmus events.

Over 300 cyclists started, and provisionally completed, either the 101KM Emitremmus Desrever, or 67KM Emitremmus Lite, despite the dismal weather forecast.

Many people reported a strong headwind home but otherwise an enjoyable route and even the rain held off for most of the day.

Unfortunately, numbers were down on last year but we look forward to 2014 for a return of, at the least, pleasant weather and another excellent year of cycling for Great Britain.

Thank you as always, to the huge number of volunteers who gave up their time before the event to get everything ready, and of course those who gave up their Sundays at the start, controls and the finish that allowed this event to take place. Finally, to the riders who made the trip to Stevenage (some made a very long trip!), thank you!
Posted On: Fri 25-Oct 2013
By: Luke Peters
Emitremmus on Sunday

Emitremmus is on Sunday!

If you have not already entered, you will need to come to the start on Sunday, preferably with a completed entry form and an entry fee of 10.

The 'Is your name here?' has now been updated with all of the start groups. We are sorry if we have split anyone up but the grouping is necessary for as smooth of a start as possible.

We look forward to seeing you all on Sunday.

Rider Group Leaving Times

For those of you unsure when groups will be setting off from the start location on Sunday they are listed just below. Please make sure you arrive about 15 mins before your group is due to set off and make sure you have your brevet card and anything else needed before setting off. Please do not set off until your scheduled start time.

EB 9:45 A 10:00
B 10:05 C 10:10
D 10:15 E 10:20
F 10:25 L 10:30

Travel News - Rail

Be aware that if you are coming by train, there are planned disruptions due to engineering work. Riders intending to get the train between Cambridge and Royston will be unable to do so, replacement bus services are in operation until 10.00AM.

Trains depart from Royston 0650 (arr 0711), 0715 (a 0738), 0735 (a 0758), 0835 (a 0902), 0935 (a 1002).

Trains depart from Peterborough 0746 (arr 0839), 0846 (a 0939), 0916 (a 0958).

Trains depart from London Kings Cross 0610 (a 0706 - 1 change), 0630 (a 0741 - 2 changes OR 0812 - 1 change), 0900 (a 0937), 0928 (a 1006).

If coming by train, please allow yourself plenty of time and check with your train operator for any extra changes to train times. Costello's Cafe will be open so you can always grab a drink if you get there early.

Travel News - Road

Six Hills Way remains closed north of Fairlands Valley Park. If you are arriving by car, please either part in the large car park off of Broadhall Way at Fairlands Valley Showground, or you can access Fairlands Valley Park from the south (via roundabout of Six Hills Way and Valley Way) and then use the large car park on the left as you enter the park. Please do not park in the small cafe car park as it needs to be used by visitors to the park throughout the day, we depend on their good will.

Weather News

The weather forecast for Sunday doesn't look as bad as previously expected and even seems to be improving fast so the ride will be going ahead as normal. It is down to the individual rider to decide as to whether they will start the event or not.