Blazing Saddles


2017: Results

2016: Results

2015: Results

2014: Results

2013: Results

2012: Results

2011: Results

2010: Results

2009: Results

2008: Results

2007: Results

2006: Results

2005: Results

2004: Results

2003: Results

2002: Bob Corbett

2001: Bob Corbett

2000: Frank Ferridge & Jill Gristwood

1999: Frank Ferridge

1998: Jim Brown

1997: Andrew Benny

1996: Stewart Hammond &
    Derek Cullender

1995: Elizabeth Wilson

1994: Chris Waterfield

1993: Robert Sanders

1992: Andrew Sherratt

The Blazing saddles trophy is awarded to the rider who participates in the highest number of rides each year. It has been a tradition of the Stevenage & North Herts CTC since it was first introduced in 1992 when Andrew Sherratt won it.

Only rides organised by the local group count towards the Blazing Saddles competition. These are rides that appear in the printed programme or here on the website. The points awarded are based upon the number of stops on a ride. If you do a longer ride with multiple stops then you will recieve more points. Over the course of the year your points will accumilate to give you a total at the end of the year.

The first ride of the "year" is always the Christmas Lunch ride during which the awards for the previous year are presented. Anyone who rides on the Christmas Lunch ride will have already earned their first point towards that years total.

Although all riders are included in our results tables, only those who are CTC members are eligible to receive the Blazing Saddles trophy.

Remember, this is a local competition designed only to increase the interest in our rides.

Current standings:

The nights are drawing in, the weather is still for the most being kind for our riding, so let's see you continue to ride into the winter.

The results for this month and the positions stand as follows:

Alan Baxter holding the lead comfortably with 138 points, Dave Hall second with 104 points, Paul Boielle third with 86 points, Bob Corbett taking fourth with 75 points and Robert Finney fifth with 72 points.

Jackie has just taken the lead with 83 points, with Penny close behind in second place with 81 points, Lynn Bonnici and Nicola Morris are now equal third with 45 points, Melanie Dumarey is fourth at 29 points, with Pauline Brennan showing an appearance in fifth place with 24 points.

For the juniors, Sophia Morris holds the lead with 34 points, George Underhill second with 15 points, Zoe Nuttal and Noah Clarke at joint third place with 12 points, Marly Aldwinkle fourth with 10 points and Leo Tsang now in fifth place with 8 points.... all very close.

It will be interesting to see what happens in the last month before the awards!

Keep cycling!!!

October 2018: results file

September 2018: results file

8August 2018: results file

July 2018: results file

June 2018: results file

May 2018: results file

April 2018: results file

March 2018: results file

February 2018: results file

January 2018: results file

December 2017: results file

CTC DA Medals

In addition to the Blazing Saddles, Medals are also awarded to riders who have gained a certain number of points in local event rides. The medals are given out as part of the presentation ceremony that happens at the Christmas lunch.

Medals are awarded for the following points ranges:

Gold 28+ points
Silver 20-27 points
Bronze 13-19 points

Points are awarded depending on the ride and the distance you cover. The table below shows the points awarded for participating in our main local rides:

Event Points
Start of Summertime (SSOSS) 60km 3
115km 6
160km 9
200km 12
Stevenage Circular Cycle 84km 4
Baldock Cycle Challenge 44km (Loop 1) 2
50km (Loop 2) 2
95km (Both) 5
Off-Road Challenge (50km) 3
Cecil Cooke Trophy (per event) 1
Emitremmus 101km 5
62km (Lite) 3
  • Volunteer helpers get the points awarded for the main ride at an event whether they ride it or not. Helper points will count towards the award of medals provided an individual rides at least one event during the year.